Utah law requires all live births delivered in the State of Utah to be filed within 10 days of the child’s birth. The birthing facility or midwife is responsible for filing the child’s certificate with the Office of Vital Records and Statistics (OVRS). Parents will be provided the Parent’s Worksheet for Child’s Birth Certificate at the birthing facility or by the delivering midwife at the time of the delivery. Completing all information requested on the Parent’s Worksheet for Child’s Birth Certificate will greatly assist the birth certificate registrar in quickly and accurately filing the child’s certificate with our office. Parents who provide their email address on the Parent’s Worksheet for Child’s Birth Certificate shall receive an email notification immediately upon the child’s birth certificate being registered by OVRS.
If the child was delivered at home or the parents are planning a home birth without the assistance of a midwife or other medical care attendant, the parents are required to file the certificate of live birth for the child within 10 days of the birth. Please contact the birth registration team at firstname.lastname@example.org or call 801-538-6371 to obtain further information on how to file a certificate of live birth.
How to order a Birth Certificate.